The Problem with Flutter and Multi-Platform

Henrique Melo
2 min readJan 9, 2022

--

Since I’ve heard of Flutter, I was amazed by the possibilities Flutter gave, especially with Multi-platform development.

I’ve developed a few apps with Flutter and, everything worked fine until I started developing for the web with Flutter. Before, I just needed to worry about giving a different experience for Android and IOS. I just used Material and Cupertino to achieve these.

When I tried web development, I didn’t know where to start. I’ve used Material but, it kept transmitting the wrong feeling when using it. To the end-user looked like it was on the wrong platform.

Before continuing, I should say that in my opinion, Multi-Platform means that an app is supported on multiple platforms. But the experience might be different.

With the ability to develop for the web, desktop, and embedded devices, how can we give different user experiences on multiple platforms?

First, I searched for packages that had web widgets. But they are all focused on mobile, at least the ones I found.
I found one named fluent_ui, based on the Fluent UI design system, but it was focused on desktop and missed some things like TextFormFields.

After all the search, I found nothing. That’s why I am thinking of developing a package or multiple packages of multiple platform design systems.
I want to have a consistent UI through all platforms and a different experience when needed.

In my opinion, there isn’t much information about developing with Flutter for Multi-Platform. Even if we had all the Widgets to the platforms, there are different approaches to the app architecture that we can take, but that is for another day.

I don’t know if this is a problem that affects you too, so let me know your thoughts on this topic.

You can find out more about Multi-Platform Design Systems here.

Found this post useful? Kindly tap the 👏 button below! :)

--

--

Henrique Melo

Experienced in development with a passion for tech, I push limits to create groundbreaking software solutions.